Sunday, April 17, 2011

First Phase Of Polling Begins in West Bengal

Kolkata  :  Polling began this morning in 54 constituencies for the first of the six-phase Assembly elections in West Bengal in which an electorate of 97.42 lakh will decide the fate of 364 candidates.

Tight security arrangement has been made for a free, fair and peaceful polling in the constituencies spread across six north Bengal districts of Cooch Behar, Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, North Dinjapur, South Dinajpur and Malda.

Some of the important political figures whose fortunes will be decided today include 10 ministers of the Left Front government, including urban development minister Ashok Bhattacharya (CPI-M), PWD minister Kshiti Goswami, jail and social welfare minister Biswanath Chowdhury (both belonging to RSP), Congress leader Debaprasad Roy and Trinamool Congress Darjeeling district president Gautam Deb.

The six-phase election is scheduled to be held between April 18 and May 10.  PTI


Post a Comment

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Grocery Coupons